Word Press Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters

Virginia’s tourist tag line is Virginia is for Lovers. As part of that different sites around the state have erected LOVE signs. On Saturday I visited one of them when I went to take pictures of The Humpback Bridge in Covington Virginia.

As I walked down to the sign I thought the “V” had been stolen or vandalized. I looked for a sign of destruction on the ground and surrounding area.

And then, just as I exclaimed loud enough for the young couple next to me to hear “What the H happen to the V!?” I saw it. I did a forehead slap and took the shot.

The “L” was created with historic bricks from the area. The “O” is a gear from one of the old paper machines at MeadWestvaco, representing the history of manufacturing in the area. The “V” is the natural feature created by a tree in the creek bank. The “E” was created with railroad ties, representing the history of the railroad in that community.

LOVE Letters(w)

Word Press photo challenge

28 thoughts on “Word Press Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters

  1. I’ve seen covered bridges, but never one with a hump. How unique! I like how they lettered “LOVE.” And you happened to be there to capture it for the weekly challenge! How timely.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Travel Theme: Metal ~ Culpeper LOVE | The Day After

  3. Pingback: Sky Watch Friday: Clifton Forge for Lunch | The Day After

  4. Pingback: 2014: It’s been a great year! | The Day After

  5. Pingback: My Quest for LOVE | The Day After

Share your thoughts...

