One Life

kent-b

PHOTO PROMPT © Kent Bonham

They say he wrote the book on it
but it made no sense to me
When I opened up the binding
only pictures did I see.

I studied it a little closer
and his message became clear.
It refuted everything I’d thought
and the notions I hold dear.

The world it seems, was black and white
without even shades of gray.
It was I who provided the colors
of a life to be lived my way

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

The month of April is National Poetry Month and so with that in mind, I am going to attempt to make my Wednesday offerings this month, poems. Key word: attempt.

72 thoughts on “One Life

  1. Anyone who can live their life in black and white is to be pitied…it’s so drab without a splash of all the colours available to us. :), well written. Cheers.

    Like

  2. Fabulous! Life is ours to make of it what we will…..and I choose, in my rejuvenatement (never say retirement) to color in in wildly neon colors and definitely with some purple and fuchsia too! 🙂
    Great take on the photo. Just back from two months in Bermuda, I’m just getting back to Friday Fictioneers — fun photo to reacclimate to. (Although I wish it was warmer in Boston!)

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2016: Not a Bad Year, After All | The Day After

Share your thoughts...

