Friday Fictioneers: Forgiving Myself

“We all make mistakes”, she said
and I couldn’t help but think that’s true
I replayed mine in my head
and wondered again what to do.

“You need to move on” was her advice
“There’s no need for again and again”
“once you have paid your price”, she said
“Beating yourself up only causes more pain”

She wasn’t talking about me, I was sure,
we were discussing some other friend
but there I was in her words
looking for forgiveness, again

mary-shipman1

PHOTO PROMPT © Mary Shipman

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100-word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

The month of April is National Poetry Month and I am happy to say I wrote a couple of poems this month. This one being the last. I used to write poetry quite often and thought I was pretty good at it but I got out of the habit and found this month to be stretching an unused muscle. I’d like to say that I will now write poetry more often but I am not sure I feel like that person any more.

40 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Forgiving Myself

  1. I like the story you’re telling here, but I think I would like it better in prose form. The forced lineation doesn’t really add to the tale, IMO. The strength of the story is in the universality of guilt.

    All my best,
    MG

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Great Flood: Fiction Friday | It's a long story …

Share your thoughts...

