Ready to Crash

I can’t sleep without the help of drugs or alcohol, sometimes both. Their effects never last more than 3 or 4 hours and then I find myself needing more.

I can’t control the dreams, they are relentless and I don’t know what to do.

I suppose I should talk to someone but I am too embarrassed and I know there are no cures only band aids, like the drugs and the alcohol.

I’m powerless over anyone but myself, I know, but my thoughts are in control and I am powerless over them as well.

If I could just sleep.

waves

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

This is a work of fiction written for Friday Fictioneers, a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

69 thoughts on “Ready to Crash

  1. Magician cannot you cure thyself. The book of spells tells so many methods. This writer knows but two, the blocking word and … but he asks a spell in return😉😉😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Dawn, I hope this is not from personal experience, but the writing makes it feel all to real. Thanks so much for your faithful visits each week to read my Fictioneers work. It is noticed and cherished. Great job with this one.

    Like

  3. A good read. I enjoyed the phrase “I’m powerless over anyone but myself, I know, but my thoughts are in control and I am powerless over them as well.” Very thought provoking.

    Like

  4. How well I identify with your insomniac person! Sometimes, I fall asleep just like that, and at other times, I’m wide awake, wrestling with demons, all completely fictional ones.
    Beautifully evocative post, Dawn!

    Like

  5. Gee Dawn, all you have to do is listen to me and Perry for about 5 minutes and you’ll be in La-la Land. Even the ocean gets so bored the waves stop crashing.

    Like

  6. It sounds like a vicious cycle that’s hard to kick. I hope she finds a way out of this and a healthier lifestyle where she can sleep. It’s so hard to function without it!

    Like

  7. wowww… I totally thought this was real, I mean that you were referring to yourself, not just writing a friday fivtion story… Great Job!!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

