The Fever

The cool water from the brook helps to quench my thirst
But I am exhausted from the heat and the travel and fall asleep in the grass
I wake to the sound of a horse’s gallop but I am too weak to look up.
I feel the strong arms of a man raise me up and I am helpless to fight it
“I’ve come to take you home, Rose” he says.
I try to open my eyes to see who this man is that knows my name but the sun is too bright.
He takes me inside a small cabin and lays me down
“But first we must get you well”

photo-by-piya-singh-bittercharm-6

This week’s photo: Copyright: Piya Singh

I have not missed a Friday Fictioneer since I started over two years ago. I thought this week would be my first. I am suffering from a kidney stone that is leaving me weak, in pain and drugged up. This is my second lucid moment in over 24 hours so typed this out. It’s a bit cliche but given my state of mind I hope you will forgive me that.

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

53 thoughts on “The Fever

  1. I enjoyed this story quite a lot. It’s both romantic and nurturing. Maybe you need some nurturing right about now. Anyway, you did a fine job with this. Hope you feel better soon, Dawn!

    Like

  2. My first thought was that something sinister is going on here, and maybe she has run away but they’ve caught up with her. Great story either way!
    I hope you get better soon.

    Like

  3. Oh dear, I am so sorry Dawn! I know how painful they can be. We used to transport plenty of folks on the ambulance. When it was a man, we would say the pain was like a man’s childbirth! Get well soon dear! xo

    Like

  4. Take care and heal from your health problem. My father suffered from kidney stones and I remember how he suffered. Lovely romance story. Congratulations for never missing a story. —- Suzanne

    Like

Share your thoughts...

