Music Monday: Vincent 1971

When I was in the third grade my class took a field trip to The National Gallery of Art in Washington DC. It was there that I first learned of the artist Vincent van Gogh.

Two years later Don McLean released the song Vincent. I learned all the words and then went on to study their meaning and all I could about the artist. When I saw this youtube creation I knew I had to share it.

Music Mondays

I have created an album on my facebook page called Words to Sing By to accompany this weekly post. Check it out!

Vincent

10 thoughts on “Music Monday: Vincent 1971

  1. A great choice of song, Dawn. I love a lot of Don McLean’s music but Vincent has always been my favourite. My high school art teacher played it in the early ’90s and the rest of the class weren’t impressed – they only liked current pop. I was never one to follow the crowd, though, and bought the American Pie album (on tape) out of my pocket money that weekend!

    Like

  2. I was a kid too when I saw. Starry Night a t NY Metropolitan Museum of Art, and I remember how I liked art and painting for the first time. Vincent was special, a great one. His Letters to Theo show him to be a fine and very intelligent writer as well.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

