Abandoned

She had planned this for months and so just before noon, she picked up the phone and called him. He answered on the second ring, which she took as a good sign.
“Happy birthday, Stranger”.
He laughed at that.
“You remembered.”
“Of course I remember. Some dates you do not forget. I also remember the date we got married.”
“I was never very good with that date.”
“A Freudian block, perhaps?”
He laughed at that too.
She asked about his children. He asked about hers.
She hung up the phone and looked at her calendar; the next date, the day he left.

This week’s photo: © Janet Webb

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

photo-88

I wrote a somewhat different story in October of 2013 when this prompt first came out. I didn’t re-read it until after I wrote my story above. Now I think I like the first one much better. You can read it by clicking here.

50 thoughts on “Abandoned

  1. Yes, I think I prefer this story. There are so many layers to this conversation, but the over-riding impression is that if they’re still talking, still civilised, then all has not been lost. Well done, Dawn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, Dawn, my alter ego loved your original, a life aching for what could never be.
    But I think this one just edges it.
    It rips the heart out, a life aching for what was, but is not, and never will be again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I prefer this one. It’s nice they’re still talking, but with the phrase “She had planned this for months” I have a feeling that, children or not, one or both of them is/are having a hard time moving on. Quite sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like them both too. Mr. Sam looked good from a distance, or maybe it was the distance that made him look good. In the new story, I like the fact that they can still talk like friends, but can still feel her underlying hurt from the dissolved relationship. Great writing on both counts.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

