Friday Fictioneers: Courage Outside of the Bottle

I was early for my shift. Charlie was early too. I poured his usual without being asked.
Charlie looked up at me “I got laid off”
“I’m so sorry, and so close to Clare leaving”
“Yes, I had hoped to get her back. But what good is an unemployed husband?”
I reached over and put my hand on his.
“And now I will lose you too. I can’t afford to come here without a job”
I dug through my bag and handed him a card.
“You can join me here on Tuesday evenings but you have to take the first step.”

icon-grill-ted-strutz

This week’s PHOTO PROMPT- ©Ted Strutz

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

33 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Courage Outside of the Bottle

Share your thoughts...

