Six Word Saturday ~ The Hardest Job: Being a Parent

There are times that I have thought I wouldn’t wish parenthood on my best friend but know I wouldn’t want even my darkest enemy to not experience it. I think you have to be a parent to understand that.

I have a friend at work who I have always thought would make an wonderful dad one day. He’s 32 now and recently confessed to me that he doesn’t think he wants to be a dad. He is quite happy being the most awesome uncle ever.

“So many people are damaged” he said. “And so many of their inadequacies can be traced back to their parents.” Good points and I agree but I think actually realizing that before you become a parent may give you a leg up. And besides, even with our short comings (damage), I feel there is a lot of good in all of us, and our children.

I hope my friend changes his mind one day and that I am around to see it. I love to see awesome dads in action.

I love the interaction between this baby and his daddy.

I love the interaction between this baby and his daddy.

4 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday ~ The Hardest Job: Being a Parent

  1. I’m with him. Many people say I would have been a great father & I suppose I can’t argue–I like kids, and think I have a lot to offer. But, when asked about it, I always say that the first step in being a good parent is wanting to be one. I never felt that. I’ve never regretted my choice, either.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

