Festival of Leaves 2016 ~ Week #8: Bitternut Hickory

I was off all week and spent much of it searching for fall color. After my vibrant trip up Cheat Mountain, everything else seemed dismal in comparison. Finally I decided to go where the trees are, and visited our local arboretum. I knew I was early for the Ginkos but visited them anyway.

It wasn’t far from that field that I found this lovely Bitternut Hickory I hope you enjoy this view as much as I did.

bitternut-hickory

2016 Fall Foliage Map
Festival of Leaves 2016 ~ Week # 8

Autumn is my favorite season. See more images of autumn by clicking here: A Lingering Look at Autumn

10 thoughts on “Festival of Leaves 2016 ~ Week #8: Bitternut Hickory

  1. It’s always the surprising finds that make the best pictures – I love your Bitternut tree! I’ve never heard of this tree but after reading the wikipedia article I did not only find the German name for it but that it only lives on the North American continent. Oh well, couldn’t have known it then 😉
    I wish we had it, though, because it sure looks stunning!

    Thank you so much for sharing it, Dawn! x

    Like

  2. Pingback: Bitternut Hickory by Dawn | Festival of Leaves

Share your thoughts...

