Making My Community Great Again

It’s been a week since the election. I’m better. Not great. I was no ardent Hillary supporter. Who could be? Wait, I take that back, I do know a few who were/are. Amazing that you could be, given 30 years of the likes of Fox News and company picking her apart like a turkey carcass.

Perhaps that is what bothered me most about this election, the lies, misinformation; the utter and complete nonsense that was eagerly devoured by so many. The mass mindset that seemed to want to think the worst and so easily believed even the most preposterous. Rarely did I call anyone out on any of them. It seemed so futile.

About ten days before the election I posted a question to my facebook page asking Trump supporters to tell me why I should vote for him. I only wanted answers to that specific question. I posted it late and made it unavailable early the next morning. I got one or two answers to my question. Enough to reassure myself that not all the people on my friend’s list are the racist misogynists the media would have me to believe they are. Don’t get me wrong. I know that some people use other issues to mask those traits but it can get just as ugly on the other side of the aisle.

I’ve worked hard all week to make sense of everything; to come to terms with it, to accept it and to drown out the noise. I was inspired by the poem that Alisa’s shared with us this week at Travel Theme: Great and I didn’t want it to go unanswered but I haven’t got an answer yet.

I know that I want to look for and even help to foster leaders in my community, in hopes that one day, long after I am gone, we will have candidates that do not represent corporations but represent the people. We have a long way to go and I am not sure how to get there but I know I am not alone in this quest. Russell Brand may have explained it better, I hope you will take the time to listen.

Finally I want to ask my friends, family, followers, and neighbors to be kind to one and other. To please stop sharing messages of “your side is worse than my side”. You don’t need to be right or to convince the world that you are.

empathy-carver-i

7 thoughts on “Making My Community Great Again

  1. Yes, we need kindness. I think Russell Brand may credit people with more thought than they actually put into this. People just believed the lies, and besides, we tend to change the party in charge on a regular basis. The pendulum swings back and forth. And sometimes it swings too far and splats on the floor!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

