Friday Fictioneers: I Forget I Love You

Phyllis gazed out the motel window. She felt familiar arms surround her. “Isn’t it beautiful?” he muzzled to her neck. Phyllis grew angry as she remembered why he brought her. She spun around but when she looked into the handsome face of the man she married 62 years ago she forgot her anger. Instead she was filled with lust and kissed him deeply.

Gary was once again surprised by his wife’s sudden desire, but never a husband to argue with her, he guided her to the bed.

After their passionate lovemaking Phyllis looked up at him. “I hate you” she said before drifting off to sleep.

lucy-sol

PHOTO PROMPT © Lucy Fridkin

This week’s story will unfortunately need some explanation. Admittedly the story does not meet the criteria if I have to explain, but let me explain.
I spoke with an old friend this week, last we spoke she suspected her mother might have dementia. Since then it has been confirmed. I told her stories from other friends and how sometimes they are funny and sad at the same time.

She shared some of her stories with me. It seems her mother has become libidinous as of late, both to her father’s delight and distress. Not only does she lust for her husband but she believes other women do also. So one minute she thinks the SOB is cheating on her and the next she is literally all over him. This is the story I tried to tell in 100 words.

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

54 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: I Forget I Love You

  1. Thank you for the explanation, it changed the story completely. Makes it more moving instead of something that reminded me of Love In The Time Of Cholera.

    Like

  2. The explanation certainly changes the assumptions – on first reading I thought she was extremely unfair, or certainly unbalanced, but with the back story she becomes very sympathetic. Nicely done.

    Like

  3. I did wondered about dementia as I came to the end of the story. But really appreciated your filling in the detail. There is so much happening in other peoples around us. Writing about it in a sensitive way is the key, and you did that very well.

    Like

  4. My mother’s early stage was filled with a lot of interesting stories about all the lovers she claimed she had… how she believed my father to have been unfaithful… and delusions that me and my sisters had different fathers… I thought it was dementia from your story,

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story with us and for taking on the challenge of reducing something incredibly complex to 100 words.
    I am a great fan of the explanation and I usually add them to my poems on the blog. Perhaps, I am a control freak but it largely comes from reading other people’s works and not knowing what they mean and appreciating the inside story. You might end up with new interpretations as well but you also have a much clearer view of what the writer intended.
    In this instance, the explanation wasn’t required but I’d thought she was running hot and cold and the reasoning behind that was needed for me. It gave it an added richness. I also appreciated the insight into dementia. I’d had two grandparents with it but they didn’t respond like this, although both their spouses had passed away.So, in many ways, it was just as well. At least, from our perspective…especially as my grandfather was a straight-laced Pastor!
    xx Rowena

    Like

  6. Very poignant and powerful piece on its own. The explanation brings it home to remove any doubt but probably wasn’t needed but then, I know a couple of people going through the same thing at the moment so it was easy for me to recognise.

    Like

  7. Dawn, I’d say you wrote a fantastically good story. I liked the explanation. Dementia is something that will really wreak havoc on families.

    This is good! Five out of five hotel rooms. 😉

    Like

  8. I think the story stood by itself …the 62 years of marriage hinted at an elderly couple and had me wondering about the lust portion of it. None of the elders in our family seem to ‘lust’ anymore;) So the explanation helped me understand that part.

    Good story.

    Like

  9. Superbly written, Dawn …. I got it without the explanation but it was nice to know the source.
    I know many people with dementia and alztheimers. They have many different ways of expressing it. A big issue in nursing homes as many are entering room of fellow inhbaitans for excatly what you described and don’t know who the other is.
    GREAT story … love it.
    Isadora 😎

    Like

  10. I’m not sure if I feel sorry for her or glad for her. She may have lost touch with reality, but she sure is living a more exciting life than she might otherwise after so many years of marriage. Well told.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

