Share Your World 2016: Week # 51 Favorite Holiday Edition

What types of food is associated with your holiday?
For me, the Christmas menu has always been a buffet of ham, (bread if you want your ham as a sandwich), potato salad, pickles, olives, and cheeses. It’s grab and go or sit a spell, whatever you have time for.
I serve a hot meal for New Years Eve that consists of steak, shrimp scampi, baked potatoes, snow peas, and cheesecake (for desert).

Do you travel for your holiday?
I may go visit one of my siblings on Christmas Day, I haven’t decided yet.

Is it a religious or spiritual holiday?
Christmas is the celebration of the birth of our lord and savior, Jesus Christ. This, as they say, is the reason for the season. As Christians it is important to remember that. But for me, a less religious person than my church going friends, neighbors, and family; Christmas has become more spiritual. It is a time to remember to be more “Christ-like” and to hopefully carry that mission through the year.

Is there a gift exchange?
I bought my youngest, who lives with me (but only for a few more months) and his girlfriend gifts and I expect they got me something too. I sent money and gift cards to my grandsons. I got a thank you in return and that works for me. For my siblings and my friends, presence is more important to us these days than presents. I look back over the holiday photos of the last 20-30 years and am amazed at how much things have changed.

This is 1984, my sister, her oldest, and her first husband (who has passed). Look at all those presents!

This is 1984, my sister, her oldest, and her first husband (who has passed). Look at all those presents!

How long does the celebration last?
My goal is to begin by putting my outside decorations up on the first weekend in December, then the tree by the 10th and so on. And then to have it all back up in the attic on January 2nd!

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 
Grateful for the over time that allowed me to send my grandsons money for Christmas. Now looking forward to some extra time off to recharge.

Share Your World 2016: Week # 51 Favorite Holiday Edition

9 thoughts on “Share Your World 2016: Week # 51 Favorite Holiday Edition

Share your thoughts...

