Floral Friday Foto: Rose of Sharon

The name “rose of Sharon” first appears in English in 1611 in the King James Version of the Bible. In the Song of Songs or Song of Solomon ch2 v1, the speaker (the beloved) says “I am the rose of Sharon, the lily of the valley”.

Sharon is Hebrew and means “plain”, referring to the fertile plain near the coast of Israel.

Interesting eh?

For the next few weeks I will be sharing pictures I took in the fall at The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (MSV)

Floral Friday Foto

4 thoughts on “Floral Friday Foto: Rose of Sharon

  1. Oh I know they are lovely, but they are so invasive. 🙂 I am constantly pulling up baby rose of sharon and large ones are so hard to kill. I know that sounds horrible but they are one of my pet peeves. Sorry for the rant against rose of sharon. And it is a lovely photo. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts...

