Word Press Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprised and Delighted

I don’t get out my macro lens much, although I love it, I am just lazy like that. This week’s challenge was a good time to bring me out of those lazies so I went to Blandy Farm, put on the macro, and took a walk. I was surprised by many things that day.

There is a new wetland habitat there and an overlook to observe it, complete with a standing bolted set of binoculars. I heard lots of noises, bullfrogs and such but didn’t see any of them.

I noticed a tree blossoming, its newest branches adorned with thorns. I looked up and the older branches were thornless, the protrusions having grown into knots. That was surprising.

I found the Copper Beech I had photographed in the fall and was surprised to see it so lovely in the spring.

I found another tree with blossoms I had never seen before. I’d thought I had seen them all, so this was a surprise.


I came upon some bleeding hearts that were beginning to wither and was disappointed I had missed them but as I walked further I found many more just at their peak, so that was a surprise.

I followed my nose and was surprised to see the Peonies beginning to open.

And last, but certainly not least I was surprised at how the dogwood delight, every spring.

Word Press Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise
Jo’s Monday Walk

7 thoughts on “Word Press Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprised and Delighted

  1. Pingback: Wednesday to Wednesday – Who Thought That One Up? | Say It With A Camera

  2. Pingback: Best of the Week: Surprise in my Yard | The Day After

  3. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : AlmodĂ´var, and the red shoes | restlessjo

Share your thoughts...

