Friday Fictioneers: Left Behind

I bow my head to pray
Like so many times before
Am I speaking to God or myself?
Is there a difference?
Does it matter?

It doesn’t seem to matter
I’m not asking for help or forgiveness
I’m just trying to sort it out
In my head
In my heart

You have been gone for five years now
I don’t come here as often
I don’t believe you are here
But I come for the solitude
I come to pray

It’s easier these days
But the guilt sometimes overwhelms
Could I have said something to stop you?
Probably
I didn’t want to.

PHOTO PROMPT © Liz Young

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

April is National Poetry Month It is my intention to write and post a poem every Wednesday during the month. #npm17

56 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Left Behind

  1. Oh, you can feel the guilt oozing off the screen, Dawn. I wonder why she didn’t want to stop them? Perhaps she thought it was for the best at the time. Dark, dark tale. Well done

    Like

  2. To me, that person is being honest in admitting to herself that she didn’t want to stop him from committing suicide. There must be some pretty compelling reasons behind that decision, and you’ve left me guessing what they might be. An excellent piece of writing.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

