Friday Fictioneers: Missing Mom

I glance at my watch for the second time in 30 seconds than look around to see if anyone notices. No one does. I am as invisible as I always have been. I suppress a laugh at the irony that I won’t be recognized until I am blown to smithereens, beyond recognition.

These thoughts steel my nerves and my resolve and I pull out the lap top and the disposable cell I have been provided.

I compose the email to the mayor from memory and hit send. I pick up the disposable, think of my mother, and punch in the code.

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly 100 word writing challenge inspired by a picture prompt. Click here to read other stories.

My Fellow Fictioneers:
I apologize for not commenting on your stories last week. I continue to have connection problems and see no end to them this week. I hope to be back online full time by the first of the month. in the mean time, again I apologize. I try to read as many as I can from another device but am not logged on to WordPress through it so I am unable to comment.

43 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Missing Mom

  1. “I am as invisible as I always have been.” This is such a cutting thought. Nicely written story.

    Like

  2. That’s so chilling, Dawn. There are so many troubled, hurt, and angry people walking around. Good writing. Don’t worry about not getting to read the stories. Many of us have had internet and computer problems and understand. —- Suzanne

    Like

Share your thoughts...

