Lingering At the Home of Grandma Moses ~ Andrei Kushnir

Last year I was at a show by artist Andrei Kushnir at the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley. What struck me right away was the places he had painted (in this show) were places I had been. In fact one of his pictures was a view only a half a block from my house. I’ve already blogged about that one, you can read it here.

While working on this project, I noticed that a photo is often more accurate than a painting. Several times I would try to get the angle just right before concluding that the angle doesn’t exist except for in the painters eye. Another thing that creates a difference is the time that goes by. Some of these paintings were done as early as 2009 and the landscape’s have changed. But also, as in the case with this painting, there is creative perspective. This picture was the hardest to recreate (so far) and I have come to the conclusion that the painter’s perspective is entirely his own.

I am really enjoying this project. Often the hunt is a story in itself. I have also learned some interesting history. Grandma Moses, for example, was a hardworking woman with many skills. I plan to share my results and the tales of my adventures, here, so watch for these posts.

You can learn more about the artist by visiting him here or watching him work on Youtube
Heritage

2 thoughts on “Lingering At the Home of Grandma Moses ~ Andrei Kushnir

Share your thoughts...

