Best of the Week: An American Japanese Garden

A few weeks ago my friend Carole, and I went to Hillwood Estate in Washington DC for the day. I took a lot of pictures, as always but none of them were outstanding. However since I have to choose a best one I choose this one of the Japanese Garden. I think I like this one best more for the story that went with it.

Our guide was explaining what a Japanese garden is, how difficult it is to maintain, the challenges this project presented for the homeowner and her gardener and the compromise they finally agreed on. She validated the necessary decisions made that caused it to be an American Japanese garden rather than an authentic Japanese garden by saying that “In the long run to be a true Japanese Garden, we would have to be in Japan.” I thought that was amusing enough to make this my best photo of the week.

11-23-13(w)

My best photo of the week; as per usual is not one I took this past week but one I edited this week. I’m always behind!
Join the challenge: http://weliveinaflat.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/photo-challenge/

11 thoughts on “Best of the Week: An American Japanese Garden

  1. I love that you are as always exuberantly behind! LOL This garden sounds more Japanese-inspired garden from your description! I can’t tell which parts of it are Japanese and which parts are American though so I’ll have it say it gels, Looks like you had a great time there 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Best Photo of the Week (MBPOTW) Challenge – week 14 | We Live In A Flat

  3. Pingback: Living with a Dog – Issue 18 | We Live In A Flat

  4. Pingback: The week in haiku

  5. Pingback: My Best Photo of the Week (MBPOTW) Challenge - week 14 | We Live In A Flat

  6. Pingback: My Best Photo of the Week (MBPOTW) Challenge – Week 15 | We Live In A Flat

Comments are closed.