What Color is Lime Green?

If you are friends with me on facebook (or if you happened to read this post) you might know of my quest to find just the right embellishment for my living room shelf. Honestly most of the fun comes from looking as I peruse thrift stores, antique malls, emporiums, and specialty shops. with friends or alone.

I found this glass leaf I thought would look nice. The size is close to what I am looking for, the theme fits with the rest of the ensemble and the colors are close to what I have in my mind. Close, I say because I don’t like the yellow or the light green. My friend then referred to it as lime green.

I was puzzled by her reference because I always thought of lime green as a darker color, the color that I associate with limes. So I googled it. It doesn’t matter if you are Benjamin Moore or Crayola you see lime green as a light, almost neon shade.

I’m glad to have finally leaned this, as old as I am. Now I am just wondering, what color is chartreuse?

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Lime or Light Green

6 thoughts on “What Color is Lime Green?

  1. The color we call lime green is close to the color of the flesh of the lime – and yes, I wonder about the difference between lime and chartreuse, although so far not enough to Google it. Perhaps chartreuse has more yellow, more neon effect.

    Like

  2. Lovely combination of lime green and blue-green in the last photo.

    I had thought of *lime* (AKA *lime green*) as a fairly specific color name until I looked at the Wikipedia entry for it.  Quite a jumble of colors are called “lime” with various modifiers.

    Like

Comments are closed.