Lens-Artists Photo Challenge: Time Marches On

Funny that Time, should be this week’s Lens-Artists Photo Challenge. I’ve been thinking a lot about it lately, I suppose that is a by-product of my age. It seems as if time is moving faster than ever, but of course, in reality, it is moving as fast as it always has. I think that being the age where I have more memories than dreams makes me more aware of the passage of time. While I used to look forward to doing things with my kids when they got older, I now think of the things I did with them when they were younger.

I lost a friend last week. I haven’t spoken to her in a few years (that happens sometimes), other than facebook comments. She was older than me, not by much, a couple of years. I do not know how or when exactly she died, and the pictures I had of the two of us together were lost in my hard drive crash, and this hurts my heart. She moved a few hours away to Roanoke, several years ago and in 2015 and 2016 I visited her there and made mini vacations out of it. We had such a good time.

So, time; getting older, losing loved ones, facing my own mortality, looking back and realizing what seemed like two or three years ago was actually seven. Time is tricky like that.

Another friend of mine, is home recovering from foot surgery and I paid her a visit last week. I sat in her rocking chair across from her, rocking. That seemed strange to me, the rocking. I noticed it at home too. I bought a rocker/recliner about two years ago, mostly because my legs swell and I need to elevate them when possible but here lately, instead of reclining, I find myself rocking. It got me wondering if that was a symptom of my age. Just as at a certain age I was obsessed with shoes, and little boys love dinosaurs, in your sixties you rock, in a chair. Admittedly, I might be over thinking this, but am I?

I watched an interview with Paul Simon last night. Paul Simon is 81, a year older than the president, two years older than Mick Jagger, 20 years older than me (approx. 😉 ). His greatest handicap seems to be hearing loss. I suffer from some of that myself. Its scary. He is still writing music though, still performing, and I’m still answering phones, albeit with the volume on high.

That is all I have time for today. Time for me to go.

14 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Photo Challenge: Time Marches On

  1. Such tenderness and reflection in your post today, Dawn. I am sorry for the loss of your friend. And as you reflect, and I constantly reflect on life), I hold on to your words. “I have more memories than dreams”, and I feel grateful for that. So thank you. I love your inspirational posters, and love that Paul Simon is a great example for all of us to follow. Thank you for your contribution, your photos are beautiful as always….

    Like

  2. I had to laugh at your feeling old at your age Dawn. Trust me, you are still young! My friends and I laugh as we compare problems or heartaches – we always say, don’t forget we’ll look back on these as the Good Old Days !! And if you try to keep that in mind the issues will seem just a bit smaller, I promise. So sorry to hear about your friend, the older we get the more precious they are and the more we miss them when they move away (or worse).

    Like

Share your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.