The Unicorn Challenge: Alone Again, Naturally

This week’s photo: © Ayr/Gray

 

I look at my life

Where there used to be people

And they are gone.

I remember complaining about the noise

The drama

The energy it took

But now

It’s all gone

It’s quiet

And peaceful.

This is what I wanted

Isn’t it?

I remember thinking so.

How many times did I say

“if it weren’t for these people

My life would be calmer,

Easier,

Quieter”?

And now they are gone

One by one

Moved on

when I said “no” too many times

Or just enough times

Either way

My life is calmer

Quieter

Easier.

I see them sometimes

From afar

Their lives are still

Loud

Drama filled

But they have moved on

To someone who doesn’t tell them

“No”

I’ll bet she wishes her life was

Calmer

Quieter

Easier

I would tell her

Be careful what you wish for

 

 

 

 

The Unicorn Challenge is a weekly writing challenge, inspired by a picture prompt, with a max word count of 250.

April is National Poetry Month, and so, I am attempting to write my Wednesdays pieces in that form.

That goes for both The Unicorn Challenge, which is scheduled to post at the start of the day, and my Friday Fictioneer’s contribution which posts when it is complete (depending on the muse).

Thanks for indulging me.

4 thoughts on “The Unicorn Challenge: Alone Again, Naturally

Share your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.